Definiens Online Event

| September 16, 2008

Detailed Quantification of Biomarker Expression in Tissue
Presented by Dr. Martin Baatz

September 18, 2008 – 17:00 CEST/16:00 BST/11:00 am EDT/8:00 PDT


Click Here to Register


http://www.definiens.com/online-event_27_29

“Biomarkers may be on verge of changing medicine… the need is to find a new generation of biomarkers to allow individualizing of therapy and integrating such biomarkers into controlled trials.”

Janet Woodcook, M.D., FDA´s deputy commissioner and chief medical officer the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Society in Washington D.C.

• The global market for biomarkers increased from $4.8 billion in 2006 to an estimated $5.6 billion by the end of 2007. It should reach $12.8 billion by 2012, a compound annual growth rate (CAGR) of 18%.
• Global revenues for biomarker discovery technologies tailored to drug discovery, preclinical studies of drug development and diagnostics research applications accounted for 47.9% of the total market in 2007. Their value is projected to grow at a CAGR of 16.9% and is expected to reach a little less than $6 billion in 2012.
• The use of biomarkers in oncology therapeutics is likely to be one of the foremost priorities in clinical trials in the next 3 to 7 years followed by cardiovascular and CNS applications

New Imaging techniques and image analysis technologies have been utilized in biomarker discovery, identification and validation and have tremendous potential to impact all aspects in healthcare. It is fundamental to every stage of drug development: the measurement of cell assays, the examination of tissue samples and the interpretation of medical imaging. Equally, image analysis is critical for early diagnosis and the delivery of effective, personalized treatment at the point of care.

Definiens has developed a unique automated image analysis technology that emulates human cognitive processes to extract information from images. The technology can be applied to a wide range of analysis undertaken by scientists and healthcare professionals.


Category: Image Analysis

Comments are closed.