Overcoming Psychological Barriers to Adoption of Digital Pathology

| August 24, 2010

This looks like an interesting Webinar offering from Aperio and who better to talk about it than Dr. Jared Schwartz who likely has talked to more pathologists and visited more residency programs than any other pathologist in the past couple of years in his former capacity as president of the College of American Pathologists. If you have heard Dr. Schwartz speak in the past you know that over the past several years he has been actively engaged with common practices in pathology looking at strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats in pathology. 

As with any new and/or disruptive technology, there are societal, fiscal, practical and psychological barriers to adoption.  As I understand it, when the need for change overcomes the resistance not to change, change occurs and there are likely as many reasons that are psychological as there are fiscal or practical (i.e. workflow related) for adoption of digital pathology.

Overcoming Psychological Barriers to Adoption of Digital Pathology

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

7 am PDT, 10 am EDT, 4 pm CET 

 OR

4 pm PDT, 7 pm EDT
(8:00 am JST / 9:00 am Australia EST September 22)  

Presenter:
Jared Schwartz, M.D., Ph.D., Aperio

In this 60-minute, complimentary webinar, Dr. Schwartz will present digital pathology concepts, psychological barriers to adopting a new technique, and approaches to adopting this highly efficient technology.

Topics include:

  • Why psychological barriers to novel technologies are normal and hard to overcome
  • Hear why digital pathology is “novel” to many, but is not a high hurdle
  • Learn about the advantages to digital pathology compared to current traditional methods
  • Develop techniques to hurdle the barriers

To register for the 7 am PDT session, click here.
https://aperio.webex.com/aperio/onstage/g.php?t=a&d=487158412

To register for the 4 pm PDT session, click here.
https://aperio.webex.com/aperio/onstage/g.php?t=a&d=487446172

You may also register by visiting the Aperio Events page.

You will receive a confirmation email upon registration with a web link that will lead you to the online event. Simply visit the link at the assigned time. The session is secure and easy to access. If you have any questions or would like additional information, please contact the Aperio Events Team at events@aperio.com or 760.539.1192. 


Category: Digital Pathology News, Pathology News

Comments are closed.