Archive for June, 2011

Humorous pathology videos from University of Florida Department of Pathology

| June 30, 2011 | 0 Comments

A loyal reader put me onto DRdoubleB over at YouTube, a pathology resident at the University of Florida who put together some high quality music videos with a pathology theme.   Check out "Dynamite Case" about the trials and tribulations of daily sign-out, grossing and trying to go to meetings, "I Got It" for nailing […]

Continue Reading

Metamark Genetics Partners with Definiens on Tissue-Based Cancer Diagnostics

| June 30, 2011 | 0 Comments

Partnership forged to tackle tumor heterogeneity Cambridge, MA and Munich, Germany – June 30, 2011 – Metamark Genetics, a privately held oncology molecular diagnostic company, and Definiens, the leading Health Image Intelligence™ company, today announced a development and commercialization partnership in which Metamark will combine its proprietary multiplex protein detection platform with image analysis technology […]

Continue Reading

Prepare Your Lab for a Medicare RAC Audit: Essential Do’s and Don’ts to Reduce Compliance Risk and Avoid Penalties

| June 30, 2011 | 0 Comments

Pre-emptive steps to avoid fines, overpayments and even jail time LIVE EVENT JULY 20 YOUR PRESENTERS: Jane Pine Wood, Attorney, McDonald Hopkins, LLC Tom Rehwald, CPA, Chief Financial Officer, InCyte Pathology, PS Justin M. Clark (Moderator), Director of Operations, THE DARK REPORT LIVE Event July 20 – Register NOW! Recovery Audit Contractors Program (RAC) is the new Medicare program that sends independent auditors to […]

Continue Reading

Leica Microsystems Launches Free Digital Pathology App for iPad and iPhone

| June 28, 2011 | 1 Comment

Have not downloaded the app yet and tried it out but wanted to share this news on the blog. Wetzlar, Germany. Leica Microsystems announces the release of the SlidePath Gateway application for iPad and iPhone, which is the latest addition to the Total Digital Pathology portfolio. SlidePath Gateway is a Digital Pathology viewing application with built-in educational content from leading institutes and pathologists. The free […]

Continue Reading

Pathology publisher goes digital

| June 24, 2011 | 0 Comments

Publisher goes digital with whole slide imaging for pathology review

Continue Reading

Webinar from Aperio: An Integrated Digital Pathology Workflow for Digital Scanning, Image Management, and Image Analysis

| June 24, 2011 | 0 Comments

Wednesday, July 6, 2011 8:00 am Pacific Time, 11:00 am Eastern Time(4:00 pm London GMT / 10:00 am Mexico City Standard Time)    Presenters:Dr. Florian Leiss, Definiens Trainer and Marketing SpecialistPriya Vaidyanathan, Ph.D, Image Analysis Specialist, Aperio  In this 60-minute complimentary webinar, you will learn about the new solutions available as a result of the partnership between Aperio and Definiens.  Topics include: Integrating image […]

Continue Reading

InView Training Through Simulation in Thames Histopathology Training School

| June 22, 2011 | 0 Comments

 “i-Path’s InView is a useful additional learning resource which complements the traditional methods of teaching” Dr Sarah Hill, Joint Chair, Thames Histopathology Training School. The Thames Histopathology Training School is the largest in the UK with over 100 trainee posts in the program.  Training is undertaken in 12 training centres across England. InView is an […]

Continue Reading

Aperio Webinar Announcement: GLP Compliance in Digital Pathology – June 30

| June 21, 2011 | 0 Comments

Thursday, June 30, 2011 2 Sessions to choose from:  7:00 am Pacific Time, 10:00 am Eastern Time (3:00 pm London GMT / 9:00 am Mexico City Standard Time)    OR 4:00 pm Pacific Time, 7:00 pm Eastern Time(8:00 am Japan Time / 9:00 am Australia EST July 1)   Presenter:Curtis Adams, Ph.D., Sr. Life Sciences Product Manager, Aperio  In this 60-minute complimentary webinar, we will present an overview […]

Continue Reading

Cognitive Robots?

| June 21, 2011 | 0 Comments

Check out Dark Daily: Pathologists and clinical laboratory managers might soon have new cognitive robotic tools to help them diagnose disease. Engineers and emergency medicine specialists at Vanderbilt University have joined together to develop a system of cognitive robots that would reduce the wait times physicians and staff experience in America’s emergency departments (ED). Read full story.      

Continue Reading

Call for Papers: The 6th International Conference on Bioinformatics and Biomedical Engineering

| June 21, 2011 | 0 Comments

May 17~20, 2012     Shanghai, China www.icbbe.org/2012/ The 6th International Conference on Bioinformatics and Biomedical Engineering (iCBBE 2012) will be held from May 17th to 20th, 2012 in Shanghai, China. iCBBE 2012 will bring together top researchers from Asian Pacific areas, North America, Europe and around the world to exchange research results and address open issues in […]

Continue Reading

Why a pathology image should not be considered as a radiology image

| June 20, 2011 | 0 Comments

Interesting paper on Why a pathology image should not be considered as a radiology image in the Journal of Pathology Informatics Fernandez A, Compton CC, Hipp JD, Balis UJ. Why a pathology image should not be considered as a radiology image. J Pathol Inform [serial online] 2011 [cited 2011 Jun 20];2:26. Available from: http://www.jpathinformatics.org/text.asp?2011/2/1/26/82051 Abstract Often, the emergence […]

Continue Reading

Check Out SPOT Macro Imaging Solution

| June 16, 2011 | 0 Comments

Got a look at this product last week – very nice controls and outstanding images in a nutshell. One of the best gross photo stands I have seen in a longtime. PathStand 24™ Macro Imaging Station for Enhanced Pathology Grossing is Worth a Look: The PathStand 24 digital imaging station produces high-quality images to support your […]

Continue Reading

Pathology Resource — IBM Super Computer

| June 15, 2011 | 1 Comment

Watson is capable of assessing health data, including medical laboratory test results When IBM’s Watson  “supercomputer” squared off against human contestants on theJeopardy game show last February, there certainly were some pathologists andclinical laboratory managers watching this “man versus machine” battle of knowledge. But those pathologists and medical lab managers did not realize that IBM intends for Watson to play a […]

Continue Reading

CAP Highlights to CMS Pathologists’ Potential Roles in ACOs

| June 14, 2011 | 0 Comments

While Medicare’s proposed accountable care organization (ACO) rule doesn’t impede pathologists from actively contributing to the model’s success, one concern is that it may not enable pathologists to maximize their value within the health care system. The College outlined these and other observations in official comments to CMS on the proposed rule, submitted earlier this week. Read […]

Continue Reading