Archive for February, 2014

Visit the DPA at USCAP

| February 28, 2014 | 0 Comments

The DPA will be hosting an Exhibitor Seminar & Exhibit Booth at USCAP’s Annual Conference   Applications of Digital Pathology in 2014 Monday, March 3, 2014 7 – 8 AM PST San Diego Convention Center | Room 29D Presenters Image Analysis & Beyond: How Digital Pathology Can Improve Breast Cancer Care David J. Dabbs, M.D. […]

Continue Reading

PerkinElmer’s NEW Multilabel Slide Scanner Launching at USCAP 2014

| February 28, 2014 | 0 Comments

‘A Clearer Vision of Pathology’ Visit our booth (#216) at the USCAP Annual Meeting in San Deigo, CA – March 3-6 to learn about our full range of quantitative pathology imaging & solutions and be introduced to our NEW Lamina™ Multilabel Slide Scanner.  The Lamina high-throughput slide scanner delivers clear, high resolution images from whole-slides […]

Continue Reading

AWS For Life Science? With $4.1M In The Bank, Transcriptic Wants To Reinvent Scientific Research

| February 27, 2014 | 0 Comments

Continue Reading

The robots from Google and Bing aren’t that smart!

| February 27, 2014 | 0 Comments

Continue Reading

Doctors Now Accepting Payment with Bitcoins

| February 27, 2014 | 0 Comments

If you are not familiar with Bitcoin currency now about 5 years old it may be time to familiarize yourself with this volatile currency increasingly being accepted, now by some physicians as an acceptable form of fee-for-service payment.  This lengthy article from Healthcare IT News provides some background as well as the pros and cons to […]

Continue Reading

Upcoming Webinar Hosted by Definiens – IHC Assays for Companion Diagnostic Use: Standardization Methods that Maximize Success

| February 26, 2014 | 0 Comments

Date:  Tuesday, March 18, 2014 Broadcast #1:  6:00 am PDT (NA) | 9:00 am EDT (NA) | 1:00 pm GMT (UK) | 2:00 pm CET (EU-Central) Broadcast #2:  10:00 am PDT (NA) | 1:00 pm EDT (NA) | 5:00 pm GMT (UK) | 6:00 pm CET (EU-Central) Presenter:       Sharon Moulis, Ph.D., Merrimack Pharmaceuticals  Today, […]

Continue Reading

CAP Members: Register Now For 2014 CAP Policy Meeting

| February 26, 2014 | 0 Comments

The Fairmont, Washington, DC – May 5-7 2014 CAP Policy Meeting: Stand up and be counted! The CAP is an important voice for your practice and the patients you serve. I’ve worked closely with pathologists in my home state of California and can tell you firsthand how important it is for you to get to […]

Continue Reading

Remote Medical Technologies to Demonstrate New Product at USCAP 103rd Annual Meeting

| February 24, 2014 | 0 Comments

Interactive demonstration of features and enhancements to the newly released iMedHD2™to reflect company’s focus on helping pathologists collaborate remotely and in dynamic real-time. February 25, 2014 – Melville, NY – Remote Medical Technologies, LLC. will be demonstrating the new iMedHD2™ telepathology system at this years’ USCAP 103rd Annual Meeting taking place in San Diego, California.   Improving […]

Continue Reading

First liver cells produced from stem cells

| February 23, 2014 | 0 Comments

The first method that produced viable and functioning liver cells was reported in the Feb. 23, 2014, issue of the journal Nature by Dr. Sheng Ding of Gladstone Institutes, Dr. Holger Willenbring from the University of California at San Francisco, and Dr. Saiyong Zhu at the California Institute for Regenerative Medicine. Several researchers have attempted to produce liver cells through a variety of stem cell techniques but none have proven […]

Continue Reading

Oakstone Publishing Offering Virtual Slides for Board Review

| February 19, 2014 | 0 Comments

TAP Slide Viewing at Your Fingertips Whether you are in the office or on the go, you will find that TAP includes the powerful tools you need for viewing digital slides. The data you need is always just a click or a pinch away. Enjoy high-quality, on-screen images and easy-to-use interfaces, as well as view […]

Continue Reading

Watching a hockey game with my dad

| February 18, 2014 | 0 Comments

Like most boys, my father was my idol, my hero, like the Harry Chapin song goes, I wanted to grow up and be just like him. He worked hard and played harder.  He was a large man with a larger heart.  If you ever met him you wouldn’t forget doing so and he would be […]

Continue Reading

How many times, if ever, have you googled a patient? – Epilogue

| February 17, 2014 | 0 Comments

In September of 2012 I asked “How many times, if ever, have you googled a patient?”  I wrote “As a physician/pathologist there are a number of forms of data available to you, specimen requisition information, clinical history, electronic medical records, laboratory tests, radiology studies, operative notes, etc…” In some cases, the information may not be […]

Continue Reading

HIMSS ’14: Orchard Software To Introduce Enterprise-class LIS called Orchard® Sequoia™

| February 17, 2014 | 0 Comments

At HIMSS ’14, Orchard Software will introduce a new product, an enterprise-class LIS called Orchard® Sequoia™ adding to its award-winning suite of laboratory informatics software. Come see the biggest tree in the Orchard at HIMSS ’14 booth #2283. At HIMSS ’14 booth #2283, Orchard will showcase its newest lab system product designed for the enterprise-wide […]

Continue Reading

Leica Biosystems – Join our free webinar on Wednesday, February 19th: Latest Biological Applications for 3D Super-Resolution Microscopy

| February 16, 2014 | 0 Comments

This webinar will highlight ground-breaking techniques in microscopy. Two scientists will present impressive results using confocal and widefield 3D super-resolution methods. Dr. Timo Zimmermann, Head of the Advanced Light Microscopy Unit, CRG – Centre for Genomic Regulation, Barcelona, Spain, will present biological applications for the next generation of STED microscopy systems. Dr. Eric Hosy from […]

Continue Reading