Aperio ePathology Image Analysis Webinar – March 6, 2014: Evaluation and Application of Pattern Recognition Image Analysis in Investigative Pathology

| March 2, 2014

Sign-up today!

Evaluation and Application of Pattern Recognition Image Analysis in Investigative Pathology

Presented by: Joshua Webster, D.V.M., Ph.D., Diplomate A.C.V.P., Genentech

Overview: 

apleic1Digital pathology is transforming the way that research is being performed. A huge advantage of digital pathology is the ability to perform automated image analysis across tissue samples. However, manual selection of regions of interest can be time consuming.

Pattern recognition tools provide the added benefit of automatically identifying regions of interest prior to quantification. This technology also provides the potential to develop algorithms which can perform high-throughput screening apleic2of histology sections, such as those required in toxicologic and investigative studies.

Dr. Joshua Webster, a board certified veterinary pathologist, describes the real world application of pattern recognition software within investigative pathology research.

Complimentary Webinar

Date: Thursday, March 06, 2014

Time: 10:00 PST; 12:00 CST; 13:00 EST; and 18:00 UTC/GMT

Sign-up today!

The webinar will focus on: 

  • Understanding the principles and potential applications of Pattern Recognition Image Analysis
  • Results and correlation between manual and automated Image Analysis for region of interest selection
  • Considerations when adopting Pattern Recognition Image Analysis

After the presentation, you will have the opportunity to ask questions during the live Q&A session. 

About our Speaker:

websterJoshua Webster received his doctorate of veterinary medicine from Michigan State University and subsequently completed his Ph.D. at Michigan State, which focused on the development of prognostic biomarkers for canine cutaneous mast cell tumors. Dr. Webster then completed a residency in anatomic pathology at Purdue University and is a board certified diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists. Following his residency, Dr. Webster was an investigative pathologist in the Molecular Pathology Unit in the Laboratory of Cancer Biology and Genetics at the National Cancer Institute. At the NCI, Dr. Webster worked as a collaborative pathologist, incorporating both traditional interpretative light microscopy and image analysis-based quantitative analyses to support basic science research. Dr. Webster is currently a research pathologist at Genentech in South San Francisco, CA.

 

Tags: , , ,

Category: Digital Pathology News, Image Analysis, Medical Research, Webinars

Comments are closed.